How close?

How close must I be for one to understand that I need them near? I’ve just been thinking that for a while now.
I can’t help but paint this lewd description, it should help to express my thoughts (and showcase my Hermann Hesse side):

Under the orange sky, by the mango tree with purple leaves, hand in hand,

two new lovers stand, watching the sunset fall on their shoulders as they say their third and probably last goodbyes for that day. He steps forward, even closer than he had earlier mustered courage to. He waits, hoping for her to do same. To him, it was the ultimate test. If she does not love him back she’d remain aloof. If she does she’ll move in to close the gap. She did love him, but she stood there, rooted in that spot.

Now, in the above scenario, both are in each other’s warm ambience, there and then both are safe and happy. Until.

I really should write some love story.

Anyway, I was just thinking if this world has so many people trying to draw close to their supreme being especially in this time of total ethno-religous and socio-economic madness, you’d wonder why the being doesn’t draw close to them. Let’s exclude all the hoards of hypocritics, focus on the ones who’ve got the faith thing going, the ones who earnestly seek comfort from above. How is it that comfort seldom comes? How is it that the “lover of our soul” stands afar of? So I asked my Christian buddy that and he recommended I read the following verse:

James 4:8 it says “Draw close to God, and he will draw close to you.”

And I was like, how close is this close that is required? Cos the overwhelming majority seems to have it that they’re on their own. That they’ve waited for long enough. That this lover doesn’t love enough. Most times it seems that they are now thinking straight. She probably was never there to begin with.

Or was she? It’s mighty hard to tell. The silence, the inaction of someone who loves you so well.

Leave a Reply

