lava on the floor!

Lying on the couch this morning i recalled a particular childhood game. And as i let the thought carry me away with a smile on my face, for i don’t know how long, i thought to go get a drink. But then something happened. As i moved to get on my feet i unconsciously jerked my feet back up as if i was just about to deep them legs of mine in lava. And yeah, i laughed. I’m still laughing now. I thought about being back on the couch as a kid with my sisters and childhood friends. We were on a rock surrounded by molten lava.

The earliest known variation of the game is in the 1948 short story The Wish by Roald Dahl, which features a child who imagines the carpet as red hot coals and dangerous snakes.


Roald Dahl was born in Wales in 1916. A fighter pilot in the British Royal Air Force who thought it better to make kids like myself use their imaginations wildly. Cos yeah, I was coming up with many other stuff as I played the lava on the floor game.
He died on the 23rd of this month in the year 1990.
He’s been described as one of the greatest storytellers for children of the 20th century.
His works include James and the Giant Peach, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Matilda, My Uncle Oswald, The Witches, Fantastic Mr Fox, The Twits, Tales of the Unexpected, George’s Marvellous Medicine and The BFG.
Though he was not the educational model that most parents want for their kids as he was a Hitler apologist but he did help to build my wild imagination.

Leave a Reply

